Updated on: June 30, 2018
Fort San Domingo 紅毛城 located off Tamsui Taipei, Taiwan was constructed by the Spanish in 1629 in an attempt to conquer Tamsui. When the Dutch Governor of Formosa at that time foiled Spanish plans and drove them away in 1642 and rebuilt the fort with stones and was nicknamed after the Dutch – Hongmao castle, literally home of the red heads.
The Fort San Domingo that stands today was renovated by the British when they leased the fort in 1867 and even constructed a British consulate within the compounds of the fortress, replacing the original white fort with red as the main color for its bricks layed verandah and tiled roof.
Fort San Domingo sits by the Tamsui river and the area is especially breathtaking at dusk and dawn.